Michael Keating (1977) selected as Alumnus of the Year 2020
Michael Keating (1977) selected as Alumnus of the Year 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020

We are delighted to announce that Michael Keating (1977) has been selected as this year's Alumnus of the Year.


This award recognises and celebrates the achievements of Clare alumni who have made outstanding contributions to society through:

  • Significant charitable work or philanthropy

  • Exceptional contributions to a community, in the UK or abroad

  • Outstanding dedication to the care and/or development of others

  • An act of heroism


Michael is Executive Director of the European Institute of Peace (EIP). Based in Brussels the EIP is an independent body partnering with the European Union and European states as a resource to promote and provide practical support for more effective approaches to conflict prevention, resolution and mediation.


Until September 2018, he was the Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG) and Head of the United Nations Assistance Mission in Somalia.


His career has been divided between the private and public sectors. Until 2015, he was an Associate Director at Chatham House in London. Between 2010-15, he worked as an advisor to conflict mediation bodies, including Intermediate and Search for Common Ground. From 2008 – 10, he served as the Executive Director of the Africa Progress Panel, a policy group chaired by Kofi Annan.


Michael’s UN career has included assignments in Kabul as Deputy SRSG, in Lilongwe, Jerusalem/Gaza, New York, Geneva, Islamabad and Mogadishu. His private sector experience includes five years in financial publishing in the City of London; in television as Associate Producer on documentaries broadcast by the BBC, Channel Four; and running a management and communication consultancy. http://www.eip.org/en/people/staff


Michael will accept his award and deliver a speech to our second-year undergraduates at this year's Halfway Hall Dinner. To find out more about the award, and to view our previous winners, please visit the Clare Alumni website.